Virunga Ranges in Democratic Republic of Congo

Not only does tourism in Virunga entail wildlife but one can also enjoy hiking the volcanoes. The conservation area is a home to eight volcanic mountains, two of which are active (Nyiragongo and Nyamuragira) – both in the Democratic Republic of Congo within the heart of Virunga National Park. The other six non-active volcanoes are Muhabura, Gahinga, Sabyinyo, Karisimbi, Bisoke and Mikeno. Travellers can take part in hiking any of these volcanoes whose summits provide clear views of the neighbouring communities.